Same same but different: face oil

Same same but different: face oil

In this series I am going to look at two products with the same function and decide which one of them wins it for me. I am only going to review the products that I’ve used for a while (at least for two or three weeks, usually much longer).

I loooooove everything oil, not just face oils, but hair oils, cuticle oils, body oils etc etc For me the main thing with them is they make me feel I am using something much more natural than the lotion or other products. OK, back to face oils:

Screenshot_2015-10-20-16-23-07-1In the red corner today is L’Oreal Paris: Age Perfect Extraordinary Oil. It gets its first point from me for the price which is $41.99 for 30ml. Oil ingredients: Lavender, Marjoram, Rosemary, Geranium, Rose, Roman Chamomille, Orange Peel, Lavandin (8 altogether). Another point for the smell, to me it is a very natural, nice, slightly bitter smell but in a very pleasant way. The main trick (learnt by repeating the same mistake again and again) in using this face oil is that you need a TINY amount (honestly A DROP). If you use the right amount it does absorb really quickly and leaves a nice soft feeling on your face straight after and in the morning but if you use a little two much it will take a very long time to absorb (A VERY LONG TIME). The way I use any face oil is to put a drop onto my palm and then I warm it up in my palms by rubbing them together and only then put on my face – works really nice for me. With this oil I haven’t noticed any real change to the complexion (it doesn’t make the skin more radiant or anything like that) though I have been using it for while.

Screenshot_2015-10-25-15-30-45-1

In the blue corner is Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate. Price wise: $98 from Smith+Caugheys for 30ml (no points from me here). Oil ingredients: Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, Coriander Seed Oil, Lavender Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Rosemary Leaf Oil, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Rose Flower Oil, Sunflower Seed Oil (10 altogether). The smell is similar to L’Oreal’s: slightly bitter, nice, natural herbal oil smell – pleasure to put it on your face. Drier that L’Oreal – you will definitely need a few drops not just one to cover the face. Absorbs with the same speed as L’Oreal and leaves a nice soft feeling on your face – in fact, a very soft feeling. No special effects in the morning after – just again a nice soft feeling on your skin which is great. But no wow-my-skin-has-never-been-so -glowy-before effect.

L’Oreal                                        Kiehl’s

1                       price                      0

0                 ingredients                  1

1               how long will it last        0

1                        smell                    1

1                 absorbing ability          1

1             the morning-after feel      1

0               special effects                0

5                         total                      4

And the winner is: L’Oreal Age Perfect Extraordinary Oil. Great face oil for a good price leaving your skin soft (if you use the right amount!). No need to pay double to buy Kiehl’s, in my opinion.

Soft skin everyone

xx

Anastasia

Leave a comment